Home stretch with the nesting Dad

Standard

I haven’t written very much lately, I have been very busy.  Not only do we have the holidays right around the corner, Bunny and I still have quite a bit left to do before Little Miss makes her debut.  I also thought I would go ahead and give NaNoWriMo a shot this year.  I enjoyed that for two entire weeks.  Not to say I stopped enjoying it, I just got too stressed to continue.  I like my story idea though, so maybe I will revisit it next year.  I met some fun people, and I had a good time, and some GREAT hot chocolate.  (I am so happy to know that there is a South bend Chocolate Company Chocolate Cafe IN the hospital where I am planning on delivering!)  During all of this I didn’t even notice when I crossed over into month 9.  I guess I felt like I was waiting for that week 37 mile marker, and just kind of lumped the two things together.  Well, I passed it.  Today is day one of week 38!

37 weeks, that’s full term people!  Home stretch!  Egads my house isn’t clean!  Ok, that’s not entirely true.  My house is clean!  I can’t really take much credit for that, Bunny has been doing an awful lot around here.  I just don’t feel like things are just right yet.  I am trying to get over it.  I really kind of have to.  I can’t expect anyone else to express my insanity in how I think the house should be, and I certainly can’t do it myself.  My body has decided that we should celebrate the end of this pregnancy the way we celebrated the beginning.  With a horrible cold!

Right before I found out that I was pregnant I got sick.  I mean SICK!  It was just a cold.  Lol, JUST a cold.  The cold that time forgot.  For 3 weeks I was couch ridden and surrounded with tissues and drugs of all sorts.  Like I said, I didn’t know I was pregnant, and on the rare occasion that I do get sick I am a pansy and suck down cold medicine.  Nothing  helped, nothing could touch this cold.  I had never experienced anything like it.  I am normally pretty healthy.  I get the sniffles and sometimes that ucky hacking cough from time to time.  It usually passes quickly though.

3 weeks…  Well, shortly after that I found out that my immune system was compromised in an attempt to keep my body from rejecting it’s new little friend.  I will never forget that cold though, I felt like I was going to die.  I felt… a lot like I feel RIGHT NOW!!!  I got sick about a week ago, and ran straight out for some sudafed.  Magic red pills I call them.  That and some tissues and voila, I was feeling better a mere two days later.  What a joke!  I felt well for an entire DAY then I started coughing.  You know that lovely feeling when you lay down and suddenly your nose plugs up and you can’t breath?  Yea, I had that in my throat.  It didn’t stop me from breathing, but it did scare the bujeezus out of me and I couldn’t sleep.  It’s been most of a week, and despite a killer sinus headache that just won’t quit, I am starting to feel better.  What a relief.  The last thing I need is to be sick when I go into labor.  Could you imagine that?  Coughing and pushing?  Egads, it hurts my chest to think about it.

That has been my last two weeks, and hopefully it ends soon.  I am really feeling helpless.  I can’t lean over the sink without standing so far away that I have to rest on my arms.  So dishes are a challenge.  I can’t reach my left leg at ALL.  So, shoes socks, even pants are things I need help with.  Once in a while I make the mistake of getting down on the floor to do something and I can’t get back up.  This morning I left the bathroom door open while I showered in case I needed help!  I get reports that I snore so loud that no body near me can sleep.  I hate to admit it but it wakes me up too.

Throughout all of this (and random crying fits) Bunny has come to my rescue every single time.  Even tonight when I needed some caffeine as a last ditch effort to get this headache to break, he ran out and got it for me.  I woke up around 3am a couple days ago and he was still up.  Did I complain?  Oh no, nonono, he was on his second load with the dishwasher.  I let him be.  He is working hard on the baby’s room too, trying to get my vision for what it should look like onto the walls as soon as he can.  I did try to help paint, but my hands were screaming within minutes, and it wasn’t long after that that my back and hips were too.  I don’t think I could have designed a better partner through this.

Not much more of this though.  I have this nagging feeling, though not so strong as the one that told me she was a girl, that she will come early.  My Mom has decided that she needs to come on a Wednesday evening, or over Thanksgiving.  That way she can take off a little time from work to be here for it.  That would be nice.  Bunny’s Mom was going to be here right after she was born, but unfortunately she can’t get time off work.  I have other family here, so i won’t be hurting for help, but it would be really nice if my own Mom could make it.  This is kind of a big deal!  If she does come early, hopefully it’s not too early.  There are still a few things, like paining the bedroom, that need to be completed.  It shouldn’t take us long though.  We’re going shopping Friday or Saturday for the last few things we need to have around the house before she comes, then I will feel prepared.  The hospital bag is packed, her clothes are washed, and right now, this Mama to be is going to bed!

Leave a Reply

